Skip to main content

CBA Chairmans’s Message – 15.12.14

CBA Monday Message:
Tony Cross QC 

Monday 15 December 2014


E: [email protected]
T: 07860 692693 

In praise of the Executive

There have been times when I have very much regretted agreeing to stand to become the Chair of the CBA.  Those times have been usually few and far between and generally have occurred when I have been the subject of some form of hysterical abuse from someone not best pleased with my ungainly attempts to protect the Bar.  It is at those times that I have lent upon the crutch that is provided for me by the Officers and the Executive of the CBA for support.  Last week I sat around a table with members of our Executive (and with those online) and was comforted not only by the numbers of people who attended but by their intellectual ability.
Last week the Executive debated the issue of “Dual Contracts”.  There was universal support for solicitors and a determination to unite behind them in their fight against these invidious proposals.  It is to them that we look for Leadership in this fight.  They have indicated that the battleground for them will be Judicial Review of the Government’s plans.  You will find a link to their campaign here.  Anyone who wishes to make a donation to their fighting fund can do so HERE.

We are not ones to make idle threats.  We see these proposals as a real threat to our profession. We have made our position plain to Government. They say they understand our concerns. Now is the time for them to act.

The Elections

The elections for the Executive end on the 22nd. I make no apology for reminding you of the vital role that the Exec plays in your future. Please vote. 
Name Chambers  Call Proposed by Chambers  Seconded by Chambers 
Kerim Fuad QC Churchcourt Chambers 1992 Richard Bentwood Goldsmith Chambers Mike Turner QC Garden Court Chambers
Rebecca Herbert 36 Bedford Row 1993 James Vine 5 St Andrews Hill Mary Aspinall -Miles 12 College Place
Nigel R Edwards St Paul’s Chambers 1995 James Vine 5 St Andrews Hill Rebecca Herbert 36 Bedford Row
Nick Worsley Zenith Chambers 1998 John Elvidge QC Dere St Chambers Simon Csoka QC Lincoln House Chambers
Claire Davies Farringdon Chambers 1999 Christopher Whitehouse Farringdon Chambers Martin McCarthy Farringdon Chambers
Mary Aspinall -Miles 12 College Place 1999 Rebecca Herbert 36 Bedford Row Ed Elton 12 College Place
Cathy (Acheson) McCulloch St Edmunds Chambers 2002 Thom Dyke Great James St Simon Spence QC 18 Red Lion Court
Rebecca Lee 187 Fleet Street 2004 Simon Mayo QC 187 Fleet Street Leon Kazakos 187 Fleet Street
Joanne Cecil Garden Court Chambers 2005 Sam Parham Garden Court Chambers Tom Wainwright Garden Court Chambers
Chris Moran No 6 Chambers 2007 Matthew Harding Park Square Chambers John Elvidge QC Dere St Barristers
Stephen Knight Garden Court Chambers 2011 Catherine Oborne Garden Court Chambers Vikki Kerly Garden Court Chambers
Abimbola Johnson 25 Bedford Row 2011 Paul Keleher QC 25 Bedford Row Dermot Keating 25 Bedford Row

Best wishes,


View more news